Professor Rhonda Galbally AC (former Principal Member)


Professor Rhonda Galbally AC was the Principal Member of the first IAC from 2013-2017, and was reappointed for a second term in July 2017.

Prof Galbally is dedicated to working in health development, disability, social and health policy in Australia. In recognition of her service to community Prof Galbally was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 1991; awarded the Centenary Medal in 2001; and awarded honorary degrees in health and social science from La Trobe University in 1999 and RMIT in 2005. In January 2019, Prof Galbally was awarded the highest honour in the Order of Australia; Companion in the Order of Australia.

Prof Galbally began as a teacher in the early 1970s at secondary and tertiary levels. In the late 1970s she was senior policy analyst for the Victorian Council of Social Services. In the early 1980s she was appointed CEO of the Sidney Myer Fund and the Myer Foundation. Since the mid-1980s, Prof Galbally has been the foundation CEO of five new Australian organisations, including the Australian Commission for the Future.

For 10 years Prof Galbally was CEO of the Victorian Health Promotion Foundation (VicHealth). During this time VicHealth established a number of research centres, including: the Centre for Adolescent Health Melbourne University, the Australian Research Centre in Sex, Health and Society Latrobe University, the Centre for research into Mother and Child Health Latrobe University, Onenda VicHealth Koori Health Centre Melbourne University.

In the late 1990s, Prof Galbally established the Australian International Health Institute. In 2000 she was appointed as the Independent Chair of the Review of Drugs Poisons and Controlled Substances Legislation (the Galbally Review). From 2000 to 2010 she was co-founder and CEO of Our Community Pty. Ltd. From 2004 to 2013 Prof Galbally was Chair of the Royal Women's Hospital. During this time the hospital established the Research Centre for Women's Mental Health funded by the Pratt Foundation.

In 2005 Prof Galbally was a member of the expert panel that developed the Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities (2006). From 2008 to 2013 she was the Chair of the National People with Disability and Carer's Council. In 2011 Prof Galbally was appointed CEO of the newly created Australian National Preventive Health Agency.

In 2012 Prof Galbally chaired the International Evaluation Committee for the Thai Health Promotion Foundation. She was a member of the independent Advisory Panel for the Productivity Commission Inquiry into a lifetime care and support scheme for people with a disability and chronic illness. Since its establishment in 2013 Prof Galbally has been a Board member of the National Disability Insurance Scheme.

Prof Galbally was a trustee of the Reichstein Foundation 1985-2010; trustee of the National Gallery of Victoria 1985-1995; member of the Malthouse Theatre 1983-1992; Board member of the Alfred Hospital 1990-1995; council member of Monash University 2002-2007; council member of RMIT 1992-1997; member of the Commonwealth Tertiary Education Commission Advanced Education Council 1983-1987; and chair of Philanthropy Australia 1982-1985.

Prof Galbally is patron of The Compassionate Friends Victoria Inc.

Prof Galbally is the author of Just Passions, published in 2004 and republished in 2012.

Prof Galbally resigned from the IAC in April 2019, upon her appointment as a Commisioner to the Royal Commission on the Violence, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation of People with Disability.